Scientific Advisors

Dr. Friedman is the Dean for Therapeutic Discovery and Chief of the Division of Liver Diseases at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.  His research focuses on the pathogenesis and treatment of liver fibrosis.  Dr. Friedman began his research career at UCSF, where he identified hepatic stellate cells as the principal effectors of liver fibrosis.  In his current role at Mount Sinai, he seeks to accelerate discovery and translate scientific advances into new treatments for human disease.  Dr. Friedman has participated in center programs at NIDDK and NIAAA and currently co-leads a program on liver cancer funded by NCI.

Dr. Harrison earned his medical degree from the University of Mississippi School of Medicine. He completed his internal medicine residency and gastroenterology fellowship at Brooke Army Medical Center and a 4th year advanced liver disease fellowship at Saint Louis University. He is board certified in both Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology. Dr. Harrison served as a Professor of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences and is currently a Visiting Professor of Hepatology at the Radcliffe Department of Medicine, University of Oxford. He is a past Associate Editor for Hepatology and is currently an Associate Editor for Alimentary Pharmacology and Therapeutics. He is a peer-reviewer for over 20 medical journals and internationally known for studies in hepatitis C and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease with over 170 peer reviewed publications in these fields. Dr. Harrison most recently served as a Colonel in the United States Army. Retiring in 2016, he concluded 20 years of dedicated service to his country. During his army tenure, he served as the Director of Graduate Medical Education at Brooke Army Medical Center, Associate Dean for the San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium and Gastroenterology Consultant to the Army Surgeon General. Currently, Dr. Harrison serves as the Medical Director for Pinnacle Clinical Research. 

Jerrold M. Olefsky, MD, is Professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD) Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism and the Associate Dean of Scientific Affairs for the UCSD School of Medicine. His work has been instrumental in defining the basic genetic and cellular mechanisms responsible for the pathogenesis of Type II Diabetes, metabolic syndrome, and other diseases. Dr. Olefsky is a member of the Institute of Medicine and was the 1998 recipient of the American Diabetes Association’s Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement. 

R. Balfour Sartor, MD, is the Midgette Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Microbiology & Immunology, and Co-Director of the UNC Multidisciplinary Center for IBD Research and Treatment. He is a nationally and internationally recognized authority on mucosal immunology and inflammatory bowel disease. His research focuses on better defining mechanisms of chronic intestinal inflammation, mucosal homeostasis and identifying new areas for therapeutic intervention for patients with inflammatory bowel disease. His lab investigates the ability of specific components of the intestinal microbiota to induce chronic T-cell mediated inflammation in genetically susceptible hosts as compared to a protective mucosal immune response in normal hosts. Additional studies explore the ability for dietary products to modify the composition and function of intestinal microbiota. Recent work has extended these microbial-host interactions to analysis of human samples, comparing healthy subjects to both Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis patients. Dr. Sator is currently the Chief Medial Advisor to the Crohn's and Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA).